Share on Twitter


Fresh off Winning its 30th Emmy and a Peabody Award, the Series Returns With a Lineup of its Most Popular Themed Competitions and an All-New Military Week

Tune in September 17

CULVER CITY, CALIF. (September 10, 2012) - On Monday, September 17, America's Favorite Quiz Show® Jeopardy! will begin its 29th season in syndication. The show and its iconic host Alex Trebek return at the top of their game - earning a record-breaking 30th Emmy Award, including this year's Emmy for Outstanding Game Show, and also a prestigious Peabody Award.

"Jeopardy! has always been about excellence and rewarding knowledge," said Executive Producer Harry Friedman. "We're committed to being the gold standard of television quiz shows."

This season will include some of the show's most popular and recognizable competitions as well as a first-ever Military Week. Host Alex Trebek, a long-time USO supporter, will travel abroad in October to military bases to help audition prospective contestants for the competition. Since 1987, Trebek has participated in 12 USO tours meeting America's men and women in uniform. "We think it's important to recognize our U.S. servicemen and women for their courage and unwavering dedication to this country. It's time for them to have a competition of their very own," Trebek said.

Some season 29 highlights will include:

  • The third edition of the Teachers Tournament, airing Nov. 7-20, shining a national spotlight on 15 of the nation's outstanding K-12 educators.
  • The Teen Tournament, a perennial fan favorite, beginning in January 2013.
  • In February 2013, fans will enjoy the return of the prestigious Tournament of Champions, which features recent Jeopardy! champs competing in the ultimate contest for the top prize of $250,000.
  • Other themed competitions this season will include the College Championship, featuring 15 students from colleges across the country, and Kids Week, with competitors in the 10- to 12-year old age group.

Jeopardy! will continue to conduct online tryouts for adults as well as college students, teens and kids aged 10 to 12. Online testing has been an enormous success, with over 1.3 million fans of all eligible age groups registering to take the test since it first began in 2006. The test can be taken from the comfort of your home or office. For all the latest online test information and notifications, fans can sign up for the Jeopardy! newsletter at

Also returning this season is the Jeopardy! Clue Crew with roving correspondents Sarah Whitcomb Foss, Kelly Miyahara and Jimmy McGuire. Since the Clue Crew's creation in 2001, the team of roving correspondents has recorded clues in all 7 continents, including 280 different cities, spanning 48 states and 44 countries. This season, the Clue Crew will present clues from across Southeast Asia, go whale-watching in Baja and continue to expand its scope of clues delivered from some of the world's most exciting destinations. They also are represented with their own personal avatars on the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and Nintendo WiiU game systems - traveling the virtual world to present clues from important landmarks and locations. Dedicated to education, the Clue Crew will continue to demonstrate and donate Classroom Jeopardy! to various communities across the country. Classroom Jeopardy! is an affordable electronic version of the quiz show, which can be tailored by educators to suit their specific curriculum, while bringing the familiar sights and sounds of Jeopardy! directly into the classroom.

Jeopardy!, the winner of a 2011 Peabody award and 30 Emmy awards, including the 2012 Emmy for Outstanding Game/Audience Participation Program, was inducted into the Guinness Book of World Records for the most awards won by a TV Game Show. The series is the #1-rated quiz show in syndication with 25 million viewers each week. Jeopardy! is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company. It is distributed domestically by CBS Television Distribution and internationally by CBS Television International, both units of CBS Corp.