Sony Pictures Sony

Featured J!Buzz


Who Is the Greatest Jeopardy! Player of All Time?

To view videos on this site, you need to enable certain cookies.

Privacy Settings

On the heels of Jeopardy!’s Tournament of Champions, America’s Favorite Quiz Show is coming to ABC prime time in a multi-, consecutive-night event, “Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time,” premiering Tuesday, January 7 (8-9 p.m. EST). Hosted by Alex Trebek, “Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time” is produced by Sony Pictures Television. Harry Friedman will executive produce. 

This epic television event brings together the three highest money winners in the long-running game show's history: Ken Jennings, Brad Rutter and James Holzhauer. The three will compete in a series of matches; the first to win three matches receives $1 million and the title of “Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time.” The two non-winners will each receive $250,000.

“Based on their previous performances, these three are already the ‘greatest,’ but you can’t help wondering: Who is the best of the best?” Alex said.

“We’re excited to bring Jeopardy! to prime time! It’s been a long time in the making – we wanted to create a unique experience sure to wow not just our fans, but all audiences,” said Mike Hopkins, Chairman, Sony Pictures Television. “We are thrilled to have James, Brad and Ken, three powerhouse players each worthy of the title ‘The Greatest of All Time.’ With Alex hosting this is truly going to be something special. I can’t wait to see who comes out on top!”

“Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time” will air as follows:
·       TUESDAY, JANUARY 7 (8-9 p.m. EST)
·       WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 8 (8-9 p.m. EST)
·       THURSDAY, JANUARY 9 (8-9 p.m. EST) 
·       *FRIDAY, JANUARY 10 (8-9 p.m. EST)
·       *TUESDAY, JANUARY 14 (8-9 p.m. EST)
·       *WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 15 (8-9 p.m. EST)
·       *THURSDAY, JANUARY 16 (8-9 p.m. EST)
*If necessary.

Meet the competitors:

Ken Jennings became a household name during his record 74-game winning streak, the longest in Jeopardy! history. His winnings total $3,370,700. More on Ken >

Brad Rutter is the highest money winner of all time across any television game show, with total Jeopardy! winnings of $4,688,436. He has never lost Jeopardy! to a human opponent. More on Brad >

James Holzhauer holds the record for all 15 of the top Single-Game Winnings records on Jeopardy!, and he just won the 2019 Tournament of Champions. His winnings total $2,712,216. More on James >